Haven High Academy Staff List

Mr. M Van Lier


Mr Van Lier started his career as a Production Chemist for Courtaulds Textiles following the completion of a Chemistry degree at Cardiff University. He soon moved onto a career in retail management with Marks & Spencer, ending up as the Assistant Food Manager of their flagship store in Oxford Street before commencing a food buying role in their Head Office. After 4 years he moved north to Spalding following the birth of his daughter for a “better life”. He worked with several suppliers to the multiple retail sector culminating in the role as Managing Director of UtopiaUK a supplier of tropical and exotic produce to customers like M&S, Sainsbury’s and Waitrose. He then made the positive career decision to become a Teacher of Chemistry starting his training at The Thomas Cowley High School. He then completed several roles including Deputy Headship for the Greenwood Dale Academies Trust in Corby and in May 2018 he was selected to be the Headteacher of Haven High Academy. During his civilian career he has also served his country as an Officer in the Army Reserve, currently holding the rank of Field Officer at the Army Training Regiment, Grantham. 

Mrs S. Wharff

Deputy Headteacher

Mr J. Amaral

Deputy Headteacher

Mr A. Thompson

Deputy Headteacher

Mr M. Eyre

Senior Leader

Mrs F. Williams

Head Behaviour Officer

Miss C. Wilkinson


Mrs T. Broadbridge

Associate Assistant Headteacher

Mr D. Bruce

Assistant Headteacher

Miss L. Heighton

Assistant Headteacher

Mrs E. Dutton

Director of Aspirations

Miss E. Firth

Community Officer

Each subject within the Academy is run by a Head of Faculty. The Head of Faculty carefully plans work with their team to plan a curriculum that gives you a breadth of knowledge and skills to support you in becoming a successful citizen of the future. You may see these staff coming in and out of your classrooms reviewing the quality of education within their subjects.

Mr M. Eyre

Head of Maths

Mrs N.Wilson

Head of English

Mrs R. Gibbins

Head of Science

Mrs T. Broadbridge

Head of Humanities 

Miss E. Green

Head of Music/Arts

Mr N. Bishop

Head of PE

Mrs E. McGarel

Head of Vocational Strand 1

Mr P. De Almeida Jarnalo

Head of Languages

Mrs E. Ladds-White

Head of Vocational Strand 2

The Pastoral Team are here to support you and your wellbeing. This great team of staff are here to support you throughout your time within the Academy. They will work with you, listen to you and will not afraid to tell you when you are making poor choices. Got any problems at school? Talk to the team and they will help you out.

Mrs H.Bates

Deputy Head of Year

Mrs C. Thornalley

Deputy Head of Year

Mrs N.Reeson

Additional Learning Faculty Manager

Miss C. Wilkinson


Mrs R. Ironmonger

Head of Year

Mr D. Hill

Head of Year

Miss T. Sargeant

Head of Year

Mr D. Hallam

Head of Year


Therapy Dog

The house system is a big part of our culture. Below is our head of house team you will see them often conducting events for their houses.

Join in! have fun! do something different!






Mrs. Simpson
Mr. Robinson
Mr Lyons
Mrs. Tabor
Mrs. Matson

General Enquiries: